Category Archives: Ayers Island

The University of Maine – UMaine News – 2013 Distinguished Maine Professor and Presidential Award Winners Named

The University of Maine – UMaine News – 2013 Distinguished Maine Professor and Presidential Award Winners Named.

Dr. George Markowsky, 2013 Presidential Outstanding Public Service and Outreach Award

George Markowsky joined the University of Maine faculty as the first chair of the Department of Computer Science in 1983. He serves as associate director of the School of Computing and Information Science, and is a cooperating professor in the School of Policy and International Affairs, and in Mathematics and Statistics. Markowsky’s extensive public service record is testimony to his ceaseless vision in advancing people’s knowledge outside the classroom. He has provided leadership in the promotion of the computational sciences, providing outstanding, dedicated professional service to UMaine and the state. Markowsky has organized countless activities to promote the many facets of computer science and its importance to modern society. His vision of exposing students to the latest advancements culminates in events that raise student aspirations and public awareness. Those events include the Northeast Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition, a game programming project for first-year computer science majors, and the 2008 Green Supercomputing event. Markowsky’s service and outreach go far beyond campus, including his advocacy for the importance of university research in the state’s economy as a member the UMaine Faculty Five in the 1990s. Also during that time, Markowsky was founding president of the Maine Software Developers Association, which became the trade organization for all high-technology companies in the state called TechMaine. Currently, Markowsky serves as president of the Bangor Foreign Policy Forum and serves on the Maine Advisory Board for the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition. In 2010, Markowsky received the Outstanding Achievement Award for Leadership and Outstanding Contributions in Cybersecurity Education from the World Congress in Computer Science, Computer Engineering and Applied Computing. Also that year, he received an honorary degree from the Ternopil National Economic University for his work in establishing the American-Ukrainian School of Computer Sciences and Technologies and for his role for establishing a municipal area network in Ternopil, Ukraine.