UMaine Cyber Defense Team Qualifies for the Northeast Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition

On Saturday January 25, 2014, the University of Maine Cyber Defense Team qualified to compete in the 2014 Northeast Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition which will be held March 14-16 at the University of New Hampshire in Durham, NH. The field consisted of 14 teams competing for 9 spots in the Regional Competition. The 9 teams that qualified were (in alphabetical order):

Alfred State University (NY)
Champlain College (VT)
University of Maine
Northeastern University (MA)
Rochester Institute of Technology (NY)
Syracuse University (NY)
Worcester Polytechnic Institute (MA)
UMass Boston

The University of New Hampshire will also be in the NECCDC because they are
hosting the competition this year.

The competition was very spirited and the schools not making the cut were:

SUNY Buffalo
Pace University (NY)
Stevens Institute of Technology (NJ)
US Military Academy West Point (NY)
UMass Lowell

The UMaine Cyber Defense Team was represented by

Captain Benjamin Grooms (Computer Engineering Major)
Co-Captain Kyle Ossinger (Computer Science Major)
Albano Drazhi (Computer Science Major)
Theodore Farnsworth (Computer Science Major)
Jacob Figg (Mechanical Engineering Major)
John Woodill (Mechanical Engineering Major)

For the NECCDC the above 6 will be joined by Taylor Newton an Electrical Engineering Technology major. It is worth noting that team members come from several different departments and show that cyber defense skills can be found in many different places.

The University of Maine achievement is especially noteworthy because UMaine does not have a formal program in cybersecurity, while 9 of the 14 teams competing (including 4 that did not make the cut) are NSA/Dept. of Homeland Security National Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance.

Much credit goes to the students who volunteered their time and to the assistant coaches: Sean Lyford, John Poulin and Lucas Wood, who helped the team get ready for the Qualifying Round.

The Qualifying Round requires judges not affiliated with the cyber defense team to be present during the 8 hour competition. UMaine is very grateful to William Quintana (Bath Iron Works), Ted Ropple (Bangor Savings Bank), Aubrey Smith (Entrepreneur) and Randy Smith (Jackson Lab – retired) for serving as judges and for their service on a day when the weather was not cooperating.

For more information about the NECCDC go to